A Big Deal

Today I wore a short sleeve shirt for the first time in almost seven years.

Yes, you read that correctly: seven years. For a very, very long time, my arms have been either too sun sensitive and/or too rashy/beat up/bloody to wear anything other than full length sleeves out and about. Today, they are not perfect, but I wore a t-shirt to work without thinking much of it. This is a big deal to me.

(Actually, my outfit today was a t-shirt, shorts, and flip flops, with my hair up in a pony tail. I got multiple compliments on my appearance from my students, which made me laugh. I never dress this down for work, and apparently they think I should more often. ha!)

Thanks to phototherapy, my life is much easier right now. My legs and feet are practically PERFECT. I can’t stop touching and staring at them. The rest of me still isn’t all that great, but I accept small victories and am cherishing these better days.

16 responses to “A Big Deal

  1. Such awesome news, Katy! I’m so happy for you

  2. That’s incredible, Katy!! I’m celebrating with you! XO

  3. Yay!!! I’m glad to hear you’re feeling better. 🙂

  4. Hooray! That is excellent news!

  5. Remember, small steps lead to giant steps. and you are always my beautiful girl.

  6. Yay! These are the greatest victories. I’m so thankful for phototherapy and how it helped turn my last major flare up around.

  7. So happy to hear, honey. It must have felt liberating wearing short sleeves and shorts! You’re on you way to healing. I love you!

  8. GREAT NEWS KATY!!! So happy for you.

Leave a Reply

