Caroline: Three Months {The Most Adorable Thing Ever}

Little Miss Caroline is three months old (on Friday)! 

Isn’t she a doll? (Nope, not biased.)

3MonthsCaro1MARKED

 

She doesn’t have a doctor visit until next month, so I don’t have any stats to share, but two weeks ago I weighed her at my parents’ house and she was 14 lbs, 6 oz.  She’s gotta be over 15 pounds by now. I should know – my arms are getting a gooood workout every day. Well, the left one is. For some reason it feels really awkward to hold her on my right side, even though I am right-handed. I also cannot wink my right eye or do right-handed cartwheels. Fun facts about Katy. 

Caroline is still sleeping phenomenally at night (and has been for over a month really). She goes to sleep around nine and typically sleeps all night. If she does wake up early morning she will come into bed with us, have a little milky meal, and sleep a few more hours. I’ve probably written this before, but I’m obsessed with waking up next to her in the morning. Since she rests her head my arm and faces me, I get to see her adorable little snooze face first thing every day. Then I just stare and stare and stare until she wakes up and smiles at me. 

3MonthsCarolineCollage1

[Isn’t her monogrammed romper adorable? A friend sent it to me along with some monogrammed pjs. Such a thoughtful and sweet gift!]

While nights are awesome, napping during the day isn’t Caroline’s strong suit. She is an extremely light sleeper during the day time hours, as well as a world-class sleep-fighter. She’s also the baby who will fall asleep in my arms and then promptly wake up the second I put her down or even try to move her into a more comfortable position. Some days she’ll get a good 2-3 hour nap in, but most often her naps are less than an hour long. Not getting a good nap makes her crabby and then she’ll scream bloody murder in Target or the library. One nice thing I’ve learned is that when babies cry in public, the fellow moms come out of the woodwork to pat your shoulder, smile, or tell you to hang in there. I’ve been “that mom” with the screaming baby in public enough times now that it hardly even phases me anymore. I really live on the edge. 

But as you can see from the pictures, Caroline has her happy/content times during the day, too. She is such a little smiler, especially in the morning and on the changing table. She also has started smiling up at me when she’s nursing sometimes, which might be the most adorable thing ever. She loves to coo and have little conversations with me where I mimic the sounds she makes. That might be the most adorable thing ever, too. Oh, and the way she sucks her thumb. Most adorable thing ever. I’m sure her laughter will be the most adorable thing ever, too, once that starts up. 

3monthsCaroCollage2

 

As for the thumb sucking, I am loving it! I remember having to pop Charlotte’s sucker back in her mouth in the middle of the night occasionally if it fell out before she knew how to put back in herself. Not a huge deal, but it’s nice that Caroline’s thumb isn’t going anywhere. She will also take the sucker now sometimes, at least for a few minutes, which has helped with the day time sleeping a little bit. In case you are wondering, I am not someone who worries about thumb sucking and pacifier use. In fact, I love that Caroline is using both. Anything that safely soothes a baby is fine in my book! Plus, I was a pacifier baby then a thumb sucking toddler and look how perfectly I turned out. 🙂 

Goals for this month are working on tummy time (No fun, she says!), remembering to take her vitamin drops (Bad Mama!), and potty training (A mother can dream right?). 

Of course I feel nostalgic over how fast time is flying, but having been through all this once before, I know about the good stuff that has yet to come. I am enjoying every sweet moment! 

12 responses to “Caroline: Three Months {The Most Adorable Thing Ever}

  1. bsk51@comcast.net

    she is absolutely beautiful!!!

  2. She’s looking more and more like Charlotte!

  3. She is stinking adorable!! Enjoy each and every moment of her! 🙂

  4. She is beauty full!!! Thumb suckers rock!

    P.S. I only hold babies in my left arm and can only do left handed cartwheels too. We are TWINS! LOL

  5. I love how passionate you are, Katy! Caroline is an angel. So sweet…well, except when she’s screaming at Target or the library! Yes, “hang in there!”

Leave a Reply

