Family Memory Recorder. That’s me.

You might think I’m getting annoying with all my “here’s another cute thing Charlotte said” posts lately. I just can’t help myself. I feel like I just have to remember every precious thing she says and the only way I can possibly do that is by writing it down. Frankly, I’m very lucky if I remember only one cute thing she says every day. It’s hard work remembering something you just heard two minutes ago. #thirtyyearoldproblems

While we were in Glen Ellyn this weekend for my dad’s birthday party (Oh wait, it wasn’t a birthday party, it was a “family barbeque.” Happy, Dad? 🙂 ), Charlotte was cracking us up with her mispronunciations.

She loved saying hi to the gullison my mom put out in our family room for the fall season.

What? You don’t know what a gullison is? Are you living under a rock?

 

 

 

1A2_skeleton_cartoon

                                                                 (via)

And then we had a great conversation about the toy horse she affectionately calls “Papa neigh-neigh,” after Papa B who gave it to her. He looks like this:

He is a clouds-dale.

And then there are all those -sk words that somehow get reversed when they come out of sweet Charlotte’s mouth.

The musky hanging on my parents’ kitchen wall is a muksy. Oscar the Grouch is Ocsar. And the ghosts my mom put out in the front yard were goats. (<–Right, not an -sk word. Got it.)

I know in an instant she’ll correct herself and will be speaking in boring grown-up English, so please don’t mind my obsessive attempts to record all this. I’m actually thinking of getting a little notebook to carry around with me which will really push my madness right over the edge.

I’m okay with that.

Here’s a little video of one of my conversations with my girl on Friday. (I guess I really don’t know how to pronounce Cheshire cat…)

Happy 4th birthday, Dad! I’m glad we were able to celebrate with you!

8 responses to “Family Memory Recorder. That’s me.

  1. I know what you mean by recording the precious memories. I’m trying my best to keep track each day too 🙂

  2. LOL…trying to pronounce the Cheshire Cat! You can be like Charlotte and have your own cute way of pronunciation. I think I will write that down! 🙂 We had such a nice, albeit short visit, with you 3….Next time a longer visit, k? xoxo

  3. Jeff seems pretty cool.

  4. LOL…”Jeff.” I hope that names sticks!

Leave a Reply

