Book Review Time! This is Where I Leave You

This is Where I Leave You by Jonathan Tropper

this_is_where_i_leave_l(image via)

I heard about this book on People.com, of all places. Until about a month ago, I had never seen an article about book recommendations, even though I’m on that website every day never ever on that silly site….

The article featured three books, and this one caught my eye. First of all, the cover. I just plain like the multicolored letters, and the title is intriguing. This is Where I Leave You. Leave me where? Why? I need to understand!

Then I read that there was a movie in the works for this film staring Jason Bateman. SOLD. I checked it out the next day at the public library. It was even waiting for me on the Recently Returned shelf right near the entry.

The story is about Judd Foxman and his dysfunctional family who has to sit Shiva (the seven day mourning period in Judaism) together in one house per their deceased father’s final wish. Who doesn’t love reading about family dysfunction? Seriously. And there are all too many skeletons in this family’s closet.

For instance: Judd just left his wife after walking in on her and his boss in an, um, embarrassing (and disturbing?) position. His mom is a famous child psychologist who’s pretty much done every thing wrong when it comes to her kids. His older brother is married to Judd’s high school girlfriend, and his younger, promiscuous 25 year-old brother is trying to get his life in order by dating a 45 year-old life coach. Judd’s sister has three kids she’s hardly interested in with a husband who never gets off the phone with work. And to top it all off, Judd finds out his wife is pregnant. (Plus a lot more.) It’s seven days of hell.

Now just imagine Jason Batemen dealing with all this stress. Perfect, right?

This book isn’t for everyone, but I tend to like messed up stories with messed up characters, so I enjoyed it.

And, Bonus! I think it will translate well to film and make a pretty funny movie! 

Oh, and Tina Fey will be in it, too?!

…I think it’s perfectly acceptable to read a book because you are excited about the actors who will be cast in the movie version…

One response to “Book Review Time! This is Where I Leave You

  1. Great book! Loved it!

Leave a Reply

