Thanks guys…

Before I begin on this post: A big thanks to who have supported me this week regarding my last post. I was clearly venting, and do not always feel so down in the dumps, but it happens enough to sometimes make my life feel a little hard. But all those comments and phone calls really lifted my spirit, and I had a great rest of the week! It sounds a little unbelievable to me that simply reading the words “hang in there,” or “I’m thinking of you,” can make a difference in my state of mind, but I’ll take it. I should ask for your cheerleading more often…. 🙂

In terms of how I’m feeling physically, I’m no better than I was on Monday. In fact, I’m actually a little worse (blech.) BUT I’ve changed up my morning routine a bit this week, and it’s made a difference in my daily productivity. It’s hard to explain without getting into too much boring detail, but it’s been a really positive, albeit simple, change. So even though my skin has been a huge pain in my itchy butt, I’ve had a better, happier week. Thank you for helping me through it.

One big thing that’s been going on around here are Charlotte’s first swimming lessons! She is in a parent-tot class so she can swim with Daddy. I’ve been watching from the bleachers and getting a real kick out of how funny she is. Unfortunately, we are not allowed to take pictures at the pool, but I did get this very pathetic video (because I didn’t know the camera was in movie mode) before I was informed of this rule (and then grudgingly put my camera away):

Yeah, that’s about as lame as it gets.

Oh well. Next year I’ll pull the I didn’t know act on the first day of lessons and try to get an actual picture.

Charlotte is a little iffy on how she feels about her lessons. She is very cautious when it comes to the water (and always has been), so she doesn’t like trying things that get her face or head too close. She says all done at least twenty times during the 45 minute lessons, but at least she never cries or complains when we don’t actually get her out of the pool. Even though she isn’t a fan of everything she has to try, she has been a real trouper about it. I think the reason she sucks it up every day is because she LOVES the five minutes of free playtime at the end of each lesson. There is a basket of silly toys and she’ll talk about playing with the t-rex or the seahorse or the fire engine for the rest of the day.

My favorite moment from lessons this week was when I came in late on Tuesday morning. I walked by her group in the pool when Chris was gliding her across the water on her tummy. When she saw me her face lit up, and with the biggest grin on her face she called out, “Look at me, Mama! Look at me!” She absolutely shows off for me, and it’s pretty darling.

We have one more week of lessons beginning Monday and our goal for Charlotte is to have her blowing bubbles in the water. They call it “motor boating,” and there is even a song they sing for it (of course). Charlotte will have a chance for some extra practice when we visit Amy and Bob at their hotel pool this week. We’ll try to recreate swimming lessons there so that I can get pictures and video. Crazy Mom Alert!

8 responses to “Thanks guys…

  1. Love you!

  2. Good to know you are feeling better! I can almost feel your pride and joy when I read the second last para 🙂 aly also has a fear of water and I really need to get down to helping her with that soon!

  3. Vent away with us, Katy! I’m one of your biggest cheerleaders!
    As for Charlotte, I’m laughing thinking of her saying “all done” during her lesson! So funny! Why no cameras allowed? That’s not fair! :/

  4. You know we will always be here to support and console and help…and whatever else while you’re healing. I love you so, my darling daughter.

  5. Look at me, Mama! Precious!!!!

Leave a Reply

