I can’t get anything past her now.

It’s been too long since I shared pictures of this awesome little girly-cue!

DSC_0011

Today Charlotte was looking at her dinosaur stickers and choosing the ones she wanted me to pull off the paper for her. She pointed to and identified the brachiosaurus, the t-rex, the pteranodon, and the triceratops. But those are the easy dinosaurs. When she pointed to a “less popular” ostrich-shapedย  dinosaur and called it an ornithomimus, I had to google it for fact-checking….

Fast-thinking Google put me in my place:

https://www.google.com/search?q=ornithomimus+dinosaur

Always trust the two year-old.

DSC_0013

A couple of Sundays ago, Charlotte and I went over to the Pudwills’ for some fun while Chris worked. It was a nice sunny day, so Carla and I walked with the little girls through their neighborhood and around a pond. As we were walking, Charlotte suddenly asked me about trick-or-treating.

“I go trick-or-treat?”

“Not until Halloween,” I told her. “Today we’re going for a walk.” I thought it was funny that she brought this up on this random April day, but I figured she must have been thinking of one of her Halloween books we have at home.

But then she kept asking about it. “Trick-or-treat, Mama?”

When do long-term memories start forming? She couldn’t possibly remember trick-or-treating in this neighborhood six months ago (when she was still ONE!), could she?

I decided to talk to her about it…see if she really was remembering something… test her, if you will.

“Do you remember trick-or-treating here with Madeline and all the kids? You dressed up like a cowgirl and wore your pink boots, and we knocked on people’s doors and said trick-or-treat!”

She got all excited in her usual shaky way, and then added, “And Carla a ghost!”

What?! She remembered that?

Yes, Carla dressed up in a ghost costume for a full ten minutes during our trick-or-treat excursion. She knocked on one door pretending to be a kid, and the homeowner didn’t even bat an eye. Then the costume came off because Madeline much preferred her mother to a ghost, and that was the end of it. We haven’t even talked about it at all since.

So I guess the answer is Yes; Charlotte’s long-term memory is going strong already! Atta girl!

DSC_0014

23 responses to “I can’t get anything past her now.

  1. She remembers me as a ghost coz she loves me!!! Haha… Awesome Charlotte!

  2. Amazing Charlotte! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Oh yes, I remember when Maggie started remembering that far back and it floored me!! ๐Ÿ˜€ I love the rug in the photos…and Charlotte is a cutie-patooty! Are you letting her hair grow out?
    P.S. I did the first homeschooling post this morning, and it’s all about Maggie being the age Charlotte is now! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Thanks so much! The rug is from Target a few years ago..pretty inexpensive and it’s held up fine! As for Charlotte’s hair, I suppose we are letting it grow out only because I haven’t cut it yet! I probably won’t let it get too long, but I like being able to put her in pigtails and ponytails. Can’t wait to check out your post later today!

      • Nice! Oh, yes pigtails and ponytails are very convenient to be able to do. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. That’s amazing all around! I was just wondering about memory, as Eliza has been talking about things that happened days ago. I’m just amazed she remembers that far back. They are smart, our children. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • So smart! Pretty much everything amazes me…when I read my old posts from when Charlotte was teeny tiny, I laugh at how impressed I was when Charlotte even pooped. haha! At least you know what that’s like, I’m sure!

  5. Smart little doll! And these pics are adorable! Charlotte is one little animated girl. LOL…the second pic! So cute.

  6. My sweet little hide-n-seek girl!!!

  7. Katy – she is so blasted adorable!! I want to grab her!! Can’t believe I am missing you by a week! We’re going to Chicago this weekend….

  8. She’s so adorable! How did she get started on dinosaurs? It’s so interesting how kids become passionate about certain things, and I was wondering if you exposed her to a wide variety of things, like various animals and themes, before she fell in love with dinosaurs?

    • Hi Adeline (pretty name!),
      Thank you! Charlotte has always loved animals, particularly farm animals and horses. I think she just got into that from books and little videos she watched in Youtube. As for the dinosaurs, I owe that to two things: an old picture book we picked up randomly at a used book store and a TV show on PBS called Dinosaur Train. She is really obsessed with that show, and would watch it all day if we let her! ๐Ÿ™‚ The rest is history, I guess!

  9. She can name a dinosaur at two?! I haven’t even heard of that word until I saw it in your post! And it’s pretty incredible that she can remember things that happened to her when she was one. We underestimate our children sometimes don’t we? Cute pics as always!

    • Me neither, Zee! I owe all this to TV actually! The PBS cartoon, Dinosaur Train (it’s on Netflix, too). Charlotte LOVES it, and that is where she learned the word “ornithomimus.” My husband I and also have a few dinosaur books that she likes to read, and we took her to a dinosaur exhibit at the zoo in Chicago this weekend, so she is getting some dino-education in those ways, too. ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Looks like you guys have a smarty smary pants! If you owe it to tv, I am sure to have a smarty pants too! I am glad! I never did think tv was all that bad ๐Ÿ˜‰ We do PBS and Nick Jr. Currently, at this very moment, she’s watching Leapfrog in Netflix – something about shapes. LOL. Anyway, your kiddo is adorable!

Leave a Reply

