Wooden Iowa Plaque

I’m a little bit obsessed with the birthday gift I got for Chris a couple weeks ago.

DSC_0008(I feel a little bit like Homer Simpson giving Marge a bowling ball with his name on it for her birthday….but at least Chris really likes this, too. 🙂 )

I ordered our wooden Iowa plaque from the Etsy shop, Sy Wood Ink, and I couldn’t be happier with how it turned out. The artists are Iowans, too, who also have pretty cool blog.

The little heart is over our home town, and lately I’ve been feeling really nostalgic for it even though we’re still a little more than a year away from moving (to who knows where). It will be hard to leave the town where we moved in to our first apartment, adopted two dogs, got married, started and finished grad school, bought our first home, and had our adorable little Sprout. A big part of me would love to stay here forever. Who knows, though? Perhaps that will work out. I did get the job across the street from our house, so it seems like small odds tend to work out in our favor.  hehe

Anyway, check out Sy Wood Ink. We choose the all-stained look for our plaque, but others get the edges painted fun colors and do cute things with the cities (like painted a star or anchor). Everything is totally customizable.  I wasn’t paid to write any of this; I just really like their stuff!

4 responses to “Wooden Iowa Plaque

  1. Oh the present is really cute! I love etsy finds. 🙂

  2. I like the tree and sunset plaque on their etsy site 🙂

Leave a Reply

