Mmm-mmm, Yummy yummy

A little bird told me….

FeltRobin

…”Gee, thanks for making me!”

Oh, you’re welcome, Little Robin! The pleasure was all mine. Really, I like needle felting. Maybe one day soon I’ll write up a quick post with a few how-to tips. That way, if/when one of you comes to visit me, we can make adorable little felt creatures together.

But this post isn’t about my (ca-ute) little bird; it’s about quinoa!

A couple of months ago, I discovered one of my new favorite blogs, Iowa Girl Eats. And since then, I’ve been pinning recipes left and right. We’ve made two in the past week, and while our meals aren’t as beautifully photographed or garnished, our taste buds have been quite happy.

Tonight we made Thai Fried Quinoa. This is what it looks like when Iowa Girl (aka Kristin) makes it:

 

Looks lovely, right? I took one look at that picture and list of ingredients and probably said out loud, “I want to eat that,” because I did. The recipe calls for chicken broth, but due to my vegetarianism, we subbed in veggie broth.

Oh, and when I said that we made it, I meant Chris. I was at Walmart buying secret materials for a new winter’s-boring-so-let’s-keep-you-occupied gift for Charlotte, which will be debuting tomorrow.

Anyway, this is what it looks like when Chris makes it:

thaiquinoa

So it’s lacking the presentation, but the important thing is how it tasted. We let Charlotte be the test of that. Here is her verdict:

 

mmmquinoa

She kept repeating those words with gusto throughout the meal, as if Chris and I needed any convincing to agree with her. The portion we made was supposed to serve four, but the two and a half of us devoured it all easily. But since it’s made with such healthy ingredients, who cares? I love that about healthy food. We’ll definitely make this again!

Here is a sneak peak of my surprise for Charlotte tomorrow. Come back to see what I’ve made!

Hmmm, is it alphabet soup? Noodle ice cream?

Hmmm, is it alphabet soup? Noodle ice cream?

6 responses to “Mmm-mmm, Yummy yummy

  1. It looks like Charlotte really enjoyed her quinoa! I would love to read a post about the needle felting, I tried to pick it up two years ago but I think I must have been doing something wrong because it just wasn’t working out for me.

    • She did! I’m lucky to have a good eater on my hands. 🙂 I think I will whip up a needle felting post one of these days. It’s really pretty easy once you get the hang of it, but you need the right tools and right wool.

  2. Yum is right! So glad Charlotte loves the healthy stuff!

  3. Your Aunt Christine would LOVE your little robin and probably needle felting! Maybe you can teach Mary when she’s out there this weekend! In fact, I insist you teach her. hahaha

Leave a Reply

