A few of her favorite things

After the Farmer’s Market on Saturday, Chris, Charlotte, and I stopped into a fun little thrift store downtown called Artifacts. Somewhere between the piles of retro board games and salt and pepper shakers, Charlotte spotted a small collection of Breyer horses.

She didn’t care about anything else in the store until she saw these horses, so she lets us know how much she loved them.

After looking them over and deciding we didn’t want to spend $32 on one of the large adult horses, we picked this little foal for Charlotte to take home with us:

Charlotte adores her new “pet.” This little horse is easily her favorite toy ever. She loves to stare at it, neigh at it, and carry it with her everywhere.

I used to love horses like this as a little girl, too, and I had a few Breyer horses of my own. I’m hoping mine are still hiding somewhere back at home so that Charlotte can have a whole ranch full of horses to play with.

Charlotte also got to play a lot with Madeline this weekend. Madeline, John, and Carla came over on Saturday afternoon, then Charlotte went to their house Saturday evening while Chris and I went to a wedding reception. Today, we all had sushi and frozen yogurt in Cedar Rapids. Between Madeline and her new horse, Charlotte was in heaven!

Carla has many more pictures and a cute video on her blog. It’s also the sweetest post ever, so please check it out. If you watch the video until the end, you will see that Chris and I have some work to do when it comes to Charlotte and sharing… 🙂

5 responses to “A few of her favorite things

  1. These pictures with Madeline are so funny. They have the “deer in headlights” look, but cute nonetheless.

    Love hanging out… Let’s do it again soon!

  2. I LOVED those horses when I was little too! I never knew they were so expensive… I hope mine are stored somewhere at home too!

  3. Mine are probably at my dad’s house in the basement that has flooding about a million times…they are long gone. 😦

    • Darn it! I’m not sure if mine are around, but Chris’s mom, Amy, just told me that HER mom is sending me three of them from when Amy was a kid. I cannot believe she still has them. I’d have totally tossed em. I’m such a purger. lol

Leave a Reply

