Big Box Easter

After my cute preview picture earlier, how about a little chat about Charlotte’s second Easter?

We started out the weekend with a visit from both grandmas. Wow — Talk about lucky! If I had ever had both of my grandmas all to myself for a day, I’d have been doing cartwheels around the room.

Charlotte was spoiled (as usual) with Easter goodies, but more importantly, she got to spend some QT with her family. For living out of town, Charlotte (and Chris and I) really do get to see our families quite a bit. Even though I’d like to be closer, it’s nice having weekend visitors once or twice (or three times) a month.

On Thursday Charlotte came down with her first little virus. (Yes, her first time ever being sick besides a runny nose!) She had been acting fussy at night before bed since Tuesday, and by Thursday she was fussy and clingy all day. She would be laughing one minute, then instantly she would dissolve into tears. Luckily, she didn’t have a fever, but she did get a spotty viral rash on her torso, face, and upper legs. Chris and I took her to Quick Care that afternoon, and the doctor confirmed that she didn’t have strep throat (or anything else worrisome), wished us luck in dealing with a fussy baby, and sent us on our way. That night, she cried harder than she’s ever cried in her life. And I’m not exaggerating. She inconsolably screamed and writhed in our arms. Then, she’d stop and smile and play with an empty bottle before throwing it to the ground and screaming again. My poor baby. It was heartbreaking.

Fortunately, she wore herself out after about an hour of this (Tylenol may have helped), and she was much better in the morning. By Friday night, she was back to her happy, healthy self. The rash has mostly cleared up as well, though that can linger for up to a couple weeks afterward.

Oh my! Being sick is NO fun! (btw, this is not a sick-pic, but her face is appropriate, no?)

On Easter, we really meant to go to church, but it was nap time and nap time wins. Instead, we made an egg/spinach/rice/beans brunch, dressed Charlotte up in her Easter finest, let her play with the plastic eggs, then took a trip over to Menards. Oh, and we also cleaned both the house and the car. (Did you hear that, Mom? The car is clean!)

Side note: We clean our house thoroughly every week. (Usually.) How can everything get so dusty in seven days??? UGH. One day soon I’ll write a post about cleaning, since I feel like I spend a quarter of my life doing it. I’m sure every one of you reading this is on the edge of your seat now in anticipation.

Anyway…

It wasn’t a typical Easter Sunday, but it was still a good one. While I try not to wish time away, I am looking forward to next year when Charlotte will be able to enjoy an egg hunt!

Thank you to Grandmas Amy and Meg for visiting and being Charlotte’s official Easter Bunnies! We love you and can’t wait for your next trip!

Car keys in my Easter basket?! I think I'm going to like this Easter Bunny fella.

7 responses to “Big Box Easter

  1. “the total look” love the flip flops…my personal choice of foot attire!!! she looks precious!

  2. Poor Charlotte! A sick baby scares me. Glad you guys made it through. No scars?

    Love her Easter outfit. The flip flops are a winner!

    Playdate soon?

    • We all made it! We were lucky though – only one bad evening, and once she fell asleep, she was out until morning. Mostly it was just sad.

      Yes, playdate soon! What are you guys up to lately?

      • Nothing much really… I think the holy week was pretty busy. But we’re back to normal now. John’s thinking of going to a disc golf tournament on Sunday but we’ll be free.

  3. Look at that pretty girl! So adorable! I’m so glad both Amy and I got to spend a day and night with all of you. (wow…clean car! yippee!) Oh, btw…I think cleaning is way overrated. tzzzzzz

Leave a Reply

