I’d like to thank The Academy…

So.

I was nominated for a blogging award!

Rachel from Peace, Love, & Fabulous Things nominated me for this award earlier this week, and I was totally shocked: This means someone besides Charlotte’s grandparents read this blog. Astonishing. Thank you, Rachel, for reading and the nomination. Rachel is a fellow English teacher and mom of two little boys. She is also very crafty. You should check her out.

These are the rules:

1. Thank the person who gave you this award. That’s common courtesy.
2. Include a link to their blog.
3. Select 15 excellent blogs/bloggers that you’ve recently discovered or follow regularly.
4. Nominate those 15 bloggers for the Versatile Blogger Award
5. Finally, tell the person who nominated you 7 things about yourself.

I read a lot of blogs, but most of them are very fancy with paid advertisers and hundreds or thousands of followers. (I have twelve followers.) So I am going to nominate just good ones that I’ve found from WordPress recently as well as some blogs my friends have started.

1) Landlocked Beach Girl…My friend Carla’s blog. She happens to be an expert on baby carriers.

2) Happiest Baby in the World…A young family that spends half the year in Oregon and the other half in China! Their life is way cooler than mine.

3) MamaPlus…A great tip center for all things parenting.

4) Being the Best Dad…Parenting perspectives from a stay-at-home dad of a cute six month-old boy.

And seven things about me….

1) I can make a clover with my tongue.

2) I am preparing to try a dairy and gluten-free diet with the hope that this will help my skin because…

3) …I have bad eczema right now, and it sucks. Unfortunately, diary and gluten are my very favoritest food groups. This will be very hard.

4) Chris and I met at a party for Special Olympics at DePauw sophomore year. We were doing the limbo. I should tell that story some time.

5) Charlotte was born via emergency c-section after a long labor. I should tell that story some time, too.

6) When I was a kid, I wanted to be a farmer/artist/vet when I grew up. Yes, all three at the same time. This was back before I realized I fainted at the mere mentioning of a finger prick and when I thought farming simply involved milking the occasional cow and gathering some eggs from the chickens.

7) I wanted to go to Illinois-Wesleyan more than DePauw, but DePauw gave me a better scholarship. Then, I almost left DePauw after freshman year to transfer somewhere closer to home. I can’t imagine life now had I done that.

*Right now you might be thinking what’s the point of this? you don’t really win anything… True, but when you spend time writing a blog, it’s nice knowing someone is reading. This is just a fun way to spread some love to fellow bloggers.

5 responses to “I’d like to thank The Academy…

  1. Thanks for the shout-out Katy! I think sometimes I just write for you. 🙂

    Dairy and gluten-free? Oh my! Let me know how that goes. So, no more yotopia?

  2. I love your blog…it reminds me of the day I was the Mom of a little girl, it reminds me of the time I was a teacher and had the opportunity to have one special girl in my class for kindergarten and second grade, and it makes me smile because quite frankly your family is just so special!!!

    • Thank you, Bobbie, for your sweet comment! I really appreciate you reading my posts, and I feel so lucky to have such a loving teacher in my life as an adult! I sincerely hope for Charlotte to have a teacher like you one day (maybe twice!).

  3. I’m honored that you mentioned my blog, thank you! 🙂 As you said, it really is nice to see that other people indeed read your blog!

Leave a Reply

