Early Bird Special

Charlotte finally had her nine month doctor appointment. We don’t have a scale at our house, so I haven’t known what she has weighed since the beginning of June when she was 16 lbs., 6 oz. At nine months and three weeks old, Charlotte is now 28 inches tall and 20.8 pounds, which is about the 75th percentile. I still can’t believe I have such a big baby.

She had to have one shot in the thigh, but it didn’t seem to bother her at all this afternoon/evening. Tonight was “dine out for the schools” night, so we tried out a newer Mexican restaurant in town that we’ve been hearing good things about. The food was great, but the best part about dinner was twenty month-old William who sat at the table next to ours. As he and his family were walking to their table, I saw William stop dead in his tracks the second he saw Charlotte with her blackberry oatmeal smeared face. Then William and Charlotte stared at each other for the next thirty plus minutes, until we left. Charlotte tried to flirt by squealing and reaching for William’s face. William played hard to get by dodging her slimy-fingered advances but then would quickly touch her hand when she wasn’t expecting. Ah, young love.

P.S. I know this boy’s name and age because his parents practically became our best friends over dinner. Also, I saw one of my seventh graders with her parents, then learned that our new dinner bffs live next door to another one of my seventh graders. I never knew 5 p.m. dinner could be so entertaining. The old people are on to something.

Here is Charlotte and Mama before dinner tonight:

Getting our wave on.

 

I think I'm ready to read something like this.

 

You should thank me for being so porky, Mama. I'm giving you stroooong muscles!

 

Leave a Reply

