Mommy’s Helpers

Hi. I’m alive. And I did not have a breakdown, or even cry just a little bit. I actually smiled and laughed a lot today. But I also cheated: I brought the husband and baby to work with me this afternoon. It was very necessary to have them there though. See, I really needed both of them to help me organize my room. In case you aren’t aware, 8 month-olds are great free manual laborers. And because they were with me, we got a ton done, such as visiting everyone in the school, “strollering” up and down the hall, and showing off our Charlotte’s hamhocks. Everyone was quite impressed with those hamhocks, too, as well other hamhocky parts of her body. I can’t tell you how many people commented on her plumpness. (Acually, I can: 7. Yes, that’s right, seven people came up to us and told me how fat my baby was. Don’t worry, I take that as a compliment.) But enough about that.

We actually did get a lot accomplished in my classroom today, and it’s looking pre-tty good if I do say so myself. I met a couple of my new students who were in the building looking for thier classrooms. (I remember that feeling – starting junior high in a new school. I was so nervous and thought it would take me months to figure out how to navigate the school. This is something I always have to remind myself of on the first day. Seventh graders are experts at pretending they aren’t scared.) And I got a Smart Board! For those of you who don’t know what a Smart Board is, I apologize for not being able to explain it. The truth is, I don’t really know what it is either. But I got one. Yay!

Charlotte wore the cutest outfit on the planet today – a pink and white ruffly onesie, short little jean shorts, and her new blue and pink tennis shoes. I meant to take a picture, but since I didn’t, here are a couple cute ones from another day for your viewing pleasure.

Yeah, yeah, walkers are taboo. But this is one her daddy played in thousands of years ago, and look, he survived!

 

(fake) cough, cough!

One response to “Mommy’s Helpers

  1. Wow, the “cough cough” picture really looks like daddy!

Leave a Reply

