Big Girl Stuff

I have a couple major things to update this evening. (No, I’m not pregnant, Chris didn’t finish grad school, Charlotte wasn’t asked to join Mensa (yet), and we didn’t win the lottery, BUT…)

Tonight, the three of us were sitting on the family room floor after dinner when Charlotte spotted the roll of paper towels beside us. There was only one paper towel left, so I let her have it. She promptly ripped off the paper towel, tossed it aside, and began gnawing on the fun cardboard. Yum. Soon enough, Chris and I noticed a small chunk missing from the roll. It was very small, and Charlotte wasn’t choking or anything, but I thought I’d better stick my fingers in her mouth to see if I could get that tidbit out before she swallowed it. Into my mouth went my finger, and, as usual, down she clamped on it. And guess what I felt??? (Come on, this is easy.) A tooth! She has just a little nub of a thing popping through her bottom gum, just left of the middle. I was so excited, I squealed. Then I had Chris stick his finger in her mouth to feel it, too. Then he squealed. (Lie.) Then I hugged and kissed and talked to her in a really high voice for a couple minutes because I am so proud of her ability to grow her own little garden of teeth. (Truth.)

Actually, we weren’t totally as surprised by this discovery as I just made it seem. We suspected teeth might be on the way because the past 2-3 days have not been so beautiful in the neighborhood. Think tantrums, tears, waking up in the middle of the night, only wanting to be held…We knew something had to be up because this is so not Charlotte. I think part of the reason we were so pleased to find the tooth nub this evening was because it proves that she has a legitimate reason for her recent behavior. Or, in other words, she isn’t just turning into a brat. Before you laugh, have you seen Super Nanny? There are many bratty kids belonging to nice people out there. So far, we’re very glad that’s not us.

I don’t have a picture of Charlotte’s tooth (sorry, not possible right now), but I do have a picture of her little sad faces from yesterday. Actually, Charlotte is very cute when she’s sad/teething.

Thank you for FINALLY figuring out why I've been crying.

We gave her some baby Tylenol tonight, hoping she gets some solid, uninterrupted rest. Not gonna lie, Chris and I would like some of that, too. Seriously though, the Tylenol is for her, not us. I do not medicate my baby to make my own life easier. This is the internet, so I feel I have to say that. 

Our other news is not as exciting, but is is another one of those Big Deals. Yesterday, we bought our first canister of formula. I am starting to wean Charlotte so that she’ll be done nursing by the time I go back to school in a month. This was a difficult decision for me to make that came with a fair share of tears and sense of guilt. I know, I know: I shouldn’t feel guilty. But that’s The Curse of being a mother – we feel guilty about both the things we do and the things we don’t do. This isn’t entirely our fault either. *coughsocietycough* But I won’t go into all that.

While I would love to continue nursing, ultimately, stopping is the right thing to do for the both of us at this time. And I can say that I now feel okay with this decision. Charlotte was exclusively breastfed for six months, and by the time we are through, will have nursed for eight and a half months. I’m happy to have given her that, and I loved sharing that special time with her. I’ll be sad when it’s over, but it makes me feel better knowing how much she loves her bottle.

Remember back in March when I stopped pumping and started coming home from work at every break to feed her because she was becoming too attached to her bottles? Did I ever write about that? Well, aren’t we glad she loves those things now! Weaning will be a breeze for her, I’m sure. Actually, this afternoon she saw her empty bottle from this morning sitting on my bedside table and started reaching for it. Seriously, if the thing that finally gets her to crawl is an empty bottle, I may as well just throw all her toys away, cuz she ain’t crawling for them. I’m thinking her Santa list might look like this: empty bottles, paper towel rolls, lots of wrapping paper. 

Sucking the life out of her empty bottle.


Leave a Reply

