Ms. Doran’s back!

Going back to work today reconfirmed that I chose the right profession. I thought it would be a rough day. I didn’t sleep at all last night due to both anticipation and this little thing called an infant, and I worried that I’d be tired, sad, and grouchy on my first day back. But my adrenaline was pumping, the coffee was flowing, and the kids were so excited and energetic that I didn’t have more than a moment to miss the baby. It didn’t hurt that I got to have her with me during my first hour prep, and that I went home during lunch and my fifth hour prep…so I guess I didn’t really have a full day away from Charlotte – more like a few interruptions. Most days I’ll probably only see her at lunch (I will need to get work done after all), but all my visits today made the transition back a lot easier.

Today also was the first day with our new sitter. Apparently, Charlotte slept for most of the four hours she was here. Come to think of it, she probably didn’t even notice that Chris and I weren’t home. As long as she has a lap to lay in, she’s a happy little sleeper! Our sitter only comes on Mondays for four hours; Charlotte’s lucky to have her daddy home with her while Mommy’s at work. Mommy and Daddy are also lucky we don’t have to spend half our salaries on daycare. Very lucky.

Sheesh, I’m getting tired. I have a feeling that I won’t pop out of bed tomorrow as easily as I did this morning. For those of you who know me well, I’m rarely one to “pop out of bed” at all. I could sleep until noon every day if I let myself, regardless of how early I hit the hay. I don’t particularly like that about myself, but I hear aging cures that. Yay….

Here are a couple pictures that have nothing to do with this post but, let’s face it, are the real reason anyone checks this blog to begin with! Amy took these yesterday when she was here.

What IS that thing? Whatever it is, I like it. I think I'll smile at it.

Even with my baby acne, I'm still cute. I'm just giving you a preview of my teenage years.

Leave a Reply

