Quick! Let’s remember Thanksgiving!

Oh boy, it’s snowing on my blog! Yet another reason to love the holiday season.

(I really cannot believe it’s been about three weeks since I last posted. I could have sworn only about ten days have passed…oops.  :) )

But since we just passed Thanksgiving I do have a few things to share tonight! We spent four awesome days in Glen Ellyn celebrating the holiday with lots of family. We are so lucky that Chris’s grandparents live in my home town, so we got to double up on the family fun (and food). I was telling my students last week that I really don’t like many traditional Thanksgiving dishing (no thank you to turkey, stuffing, gravy, pumpkin pie, whip creamy jello concoctions), but I always wind up stuffed from the delicious appetizers. And luckily our family does branch out in terms of options on the buffet spread. I especially loved my grandma’s roasted brussel sprouts, the mashed potatos (duh), and the kale salad recipe I found here.  <— It is so good and soo easy!

Of course, I was enjoying my time too much to stop and take many pictures, but we did snap some at the Shedd Aquarium on Friday afternoon. We made the mistake of telling Charlotte about the aquarium a month ago, so she was very eagerly anticipating this field trip. However, after waiting in line 45 minutes to get in the door, then checking out approximately three fish, Charlotte declared matter-of-factly, “I want to go home.” HA. 

DSC_0054

 

DSC_0068

DSC_0090

The issue was remedied with some popcorn, and the fish-viewing was able to continue until we all saw what we wanted to. Some of our favorites were the beluga whales, the seahorses,  and the jelly fish. John, Joe, and Geneice came with us, so it was especially fun! 

DSC_0079

 

DSC_0081

A few other highlights of the long weekend:

  • Charlotte’s reaction to all the Christmas decorations at Grandma Margaret’s house. She loved the musical snow globes and electronic ice rink.
  • Visiting some Doran cousins in Wheaton for breakfast and coffee. They treated us well with pancakes, bacon, sausage, and hash browns. It’s another great coincidence that they live nearby, and we’re really happy to have been able to see them.
  • Hearing Charlotte belt out the lyrics from Chicago’s Greatest Hits 1982-1989 (think: all those sappy love ballads) in the car, while playing with toys, pretty much anywhere the mood strikes her. 
  • Deep dish pizza from Barone’s. It had been years since I’d had it – maybe even since high school – and it was just as good as I remembered.
  • Lunch with Mom at Glen Oak before leaving on Sunday, and feeling only a little guilty that Charlotte’s meal consisted of bread, gravy cream of rice soup, and mac and cheese. Balanced meals can wait until Monday. 

And now the Christmas countdown begins! I really do adore this time of year, and each year it has gotten even more fun as Charlotte has grown older. It’s so cute to hear her singing, “It’s the most wonderful time of the year…!” 

2 responses to “Quick! Let’s remember Thanksgiving!

  1. I had so much fun on T-day with all of you! I may have gotten Charlotte a little too wired…haha. I revert to a 3 year old when I’m around kids that age! It’s more fun to be 3 than 50-something! Sure hope to see all of you over the Christmas break. Love you!

Leave a Reply

