Burlap and Pom-Pom Wreath

Almost a year ago, I bought about three yards of burlap with the intention of making a table cloth.

That never happened. I found out that, even after soaking in a tub of hot water for an hour or two, burlap will always shed and shed. I didn’t want to be eating burlap, so I stored it all away waiting for some inspiration.

Now it’s Christmas time, and Pinterest has bombarded me with images upon images of diy wreaths. Bingo.

Inspired by this and these (again!), I came up with this:

BurlapPomWreath

This easy project took about a day to make (with lots of breaks for snacks, coloring, and reading Curious George), so it’s perfect for a snowy day indoors.

You need so few materials and essentially no skills to make this thing. That’s my kind of project. Here is what you need:

WreathMaterials

Simply cut your burlap into strips and wrap them around the wreath, securing tightly with floral pins. No need to be stingy with the pins because nobody likes a saggy Christmas wreath.

I used this tutorial to make the bow, then hot glued on a center bow made with ribbon and a random button. I sponged on some brown followed by some gold sparkly craft paint so it didn’t look so monochromatic. But really, you could use whatever tickles your fancy for the bow, including recycling something you received on a Christmas gift (because I almost did that). How free! How easy!

BurlapBows

I already knew how to make the poms since I made the bookmarks a couple months ago (using this simple tutorial), and I must say that my pom-making skills have vastly improved. :)

RedPoms

I made nine total (hence the garbage full of yarn scraps) because I wasn’t sure how I was going to arrange them.

I toyed with the idea of doing this:

DotPomWreath

(The great thing is, if I want to switch my wreath’s look to the one above, I can easily do so because everything is arranged with pins!)

To achieve the “dangling ornament” look I went with instead, just arrange the poms to your liking, then flip the wreath over and pin the strings down in back. It’s pretty much fool-proof because you can play around with it as much as you like without ruining anything.

Finally, attach a ribbon up top and hang! Ta Da!

BurlapPomWreath

There are still six days until Christmas and I fully intend to keep this puppy hanging up at least until February. I think it could totally pass for a Valentine’s Day wreath, too… :)

Sharing with The Shabby Creek Cottage, House of Hepworths, Gingerly Made, Craft Junkie TooI Gotta Create, Somewhat Simple, The Charm of Home, One Artsy Mama, Mom on Time Out

3 responses to “Burlap and Pom-Pom Wreath

  1. Very cute.

  2. We need a craft day! The last crafty thing I made was a pillow with candlewicking for Mimi….about 20 years ago!

  3. LOL Meg!!

Leave a Reply

