Yarn Pom Bookmark

There are a couple of bloggers in this blogiverse who created this fun little link party called The Great Pinterest Challenge. Basically, you make something you’ve pinned on Pinterest, then post your project on the hosts’ blogs so that everyone can peruse each others’ crafts or yummy recipes (or whatever). I did this a couple of months ago when I posted about my striped curtains.

With my skin the way it’s been lately, I haven’t really been up for crafts lately. Especially big, time consuming crafts. But crafts don’t have to be complicated and time consuming now do they? No.  In fact, this craft takes only a few minutes, and it’s really easy.

This is the photo I pinned:

These yarn ball bookmarks were created by Jane over at Design Mom, a blog I am newly obsessed with. Aren’t they cute?

All you need:

If you can cut, you can do this project. There is a full tutorial with great pictures already on Design Mom, so I’ll just show you my finished poms.

Ta da! Aren’t they fun? Mine don’t look quite as perfect as those in the photo I pinned, but I’ve learned that that is something to be expected when it comes to my crafting skills. They’re still cute, albeit a little wonky. (The yellow pom in the top left was the first I made. Can you tell? You get better at creating a nice circle with each try. As I was cutting, I felt like Mr. Miyagi snipping away at his bonsai tree. It was awesome.)

I love this project because it looks far more complicated than it really is. (Which means you get to impress people when you tell them you made them.)

Don’t forget to visit the Pinterest Challenge hosts’ blogs to check out other fun Pinterest-inspired projects! Go here, here, here, or here.

(image via)

8 responses to “Yarn Pom Bookmark

  1. gorgeous! I adore pompoms, you’ve just given me new new ideas :-)

  2. Very cute! I love Pinterest. :D

  3. You have to get me hooked up on Pinterest. (because I won’t have a clue what to do!) Very cute pompons!

  4. Nice work, Katy! Those are cute and hilarious at the same time.

Leave a Reply

